30 Countries Black Listed as Tax Havens

June 18, 2015 International Tax CooperationOffshore Taxation

BRUSSELS – A large number of countries outside of the EU have now been blacklisted for allegedly not doing enough to help stop tax evasion.

At a news conference held on June 17th the EU Economic Affairs Commissioner Pierre Moscovici announced that 30 countries have now been blacklisted due to their continued non-cooperation regarding tax evasion.

The newly blacklisted countries are Andorra, Liechtenstein, Guernsey, Monaco, Mauritius, Liberia, Seychelles, Brunei, Hong Kong, Maldives, Cook Islands, Nauru, Niue, Marshall Islands, Vanuatu, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Grenada, Montserrat, Panama, St Vincent and the Grenadines, St Kitts and Nevis, Turks and Caicos, US Virgin Islands.

The list does not include any EU countries which are often considered to be tax havens, such as Netherlands, Ireland or Luxembourg, and Pierre Moscovici explained that the omission was intentional, as EU counties are subject to a separate set of inquiries.

Photo By: Miran Rijavec